top of page
  • Writer's pictureNora Curry

Maine Literary Awards

The Maine Literary Awards take place every year in spring to honor the writing of Mainers from the previous year, with nominations open to all residents. The awards recognize published works, drama, short works, and student writing across various categories and offer a chance to celebrate the best of Maine writing while often bringing lesser known creators to light. The annual competition is held by the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. Are you a writer? You can even self-nominate, so let that idea inspire you as you take pen to paper!

Follow the links below to learn more about the 2022 winners of published works and request them from our catalog.

Crime Fiction

Dead by Dawn, Paul Doiron


Margreete’s Harbor, Eleanor Morse

Nonfiction and Co-Winner for John N. Cole Award for Maine Nonfiction


Poetry (Co-Winners)

Dear Specimen, W.J. Herbert

Young People's Literature

River Magic, Ellen Booraem


The First Blade of Sweetgrass, Suzanne Greenlaw & Gabriel Frey, illus. Nancy Baker

Speculative Fiction

Rhizome, James. M. Wright

Excellence in Publishing

The Sonnets to Orpheus, Rainer Maria Rilke, trans. John Rosenwald (Covered Bridge Press)

Anthology and Co-Winner for John N. Cole Award for Maine Nonfiction

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page